Sign In

Essa Township logo

Welcome to Essa Township

Township of Essa Administration Centre

5786 County Road 21 | Utopia, ON L0M 1T0

Phone: 705-424-9917 Fax: 705-424-2367

Office Hours: Monday through Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

Skip Navigation LinksTownship of Essa > Local Government

Local Government


The Township of Essa is governed by a five member Council.  Council is comprised of a Mayor, Deputy Mayor and three Councillors.  The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected at large while the three Councillors are elected in their respective Ward.  The Mayor and Deputy Mayor also serve as members of the Council for the County of Simcoe.

Council appoints members of the public to several committees to initiate and provide recommendations, advice and information to Council and carry out the responsibilities which are assigned by Council.  

Information regarding the purpose, mandate, composition, meeting schedule, etc., for each committee may be accessed by clicking the appropriate link to the left of the page.  The agendas and minutes of each committee are also found on each respective committee page.