The Township of Essa is governed by a five member Council. Council is comprised of a Mayor, Deputy Mayor and three Councillors. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected at large while the three Councillors are elected in their respective Ward. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor also serve as members of the Council for the County of Simcoe.


2022-2026 Essa Council


Sandie Macdonald


Deputy Mayor
Michael Smith


Councillor Ward 1
Pieter Kiezebrink


Councillor Ward 2
Henry Sander


Councillor Ward 3
Liana Maltby

At Council Meetings, the Mayor and Members of Council discuss and act on matters of importance to the municipality and its residents. The powers of Council are exercised in one of two ways: either in the form of a by-law or in the form of a resolution.

A resolution is an expression of the decision or wishes of Council which has been submitted in the form of a motion and has been adopted by majority vote. Council of the Township of Essa passes Confirmatory By-laws at the end of each meeting confirming all proceedings of Council including resolutions and directions.

In more important matters and where the action to be taken will affect the general public, the powers of Council are exercised by by-law. By-laws are laws that are in effect only within the boundaries of the municipality. While a municipality may pass by-laws on many matters, the provincial government places limits on the actions a municipality may take. A municipality may pass by-laws only on matters that the province has given it authority to do so.

Accountability and Transparency Policy A07-07 

Committee of the Whole and Council Meetings 

As a result of COVID, Committee and Council meetings are being held virtually with electronic participation.  If you wish to participate in a Council meeting you are required to pre-register with the Clerks Department by noon on the date you are participating. Please call 705-424-9770 ext. 116 or 117.

Council/Committee of the Whole meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of each month beginning at 6:00 p.m. These meetings are held in Council Chambers at the Essa Administration Centre at 5786 County Road 21 (east of Baxter).  The schedule of meetings may be altered during the summer months.  All Council meetings are open to the public. If you would like to make a delegation to the Committee of the Whole, an application form must be submitted to the Office of the Clerk by the Wednesday of the week before the meeting you wish to attend.  

For a schedule of Committee of the Whole and Council Meetings please view our Calendar.

Scroll to top